auto accidents: don't have one

If there's something on your mind that just doesn't seem to fall into any of the other categories, well, it quite likely belongs inside Joe Finneman's marketplace. Think of it as a general store for general discussions!
bookworm
ToO Historian
ToO Historian

auto accidents: don't have one

Post by bookworm »

I was in my first car accident last month. It wasn’t my fault at all, someone didn’t stop at their end of a four-way intersection while I was going through and hit me in the middle. It wasn’t a huge impact, but it was a good one.
Now I had always hoped, of course, that I would never be in an accident, but if I ever was I knew it would be the other driver’s fault. I am a very cautious driver, at times perhaps overly cautious, so if something ever happened it wouldn’t be on me. That is what happened here, but I still had it wrong though. I always thought it would be the result of the other person being a jerk and intentionally trying to pull a risky move, you know, race out in front of me or something like that. That isn’t what happened here at all, this was a complete accident. The kid was new to town, as far as I can tell he didn’t realize it was a four-way stop and thought I would stay at my end until he passed or something. So he wasn’t trying to beat me through or anything, it was just a fluke. Just bad timing.

Anyway, the reason I post is to pass on some important information to drivers who haven’t experienced an accident yet. I imagine you’re probably of the same thought process I was. ‘If it ever happens it won’t be my fault, so it’s not a big deal. It would be somewhat inconvenient, but if it’s not my fault it couldn’t be too bad.’ I’m here to tell you that is not the case. Even if the accident isn’t your fault it will still be a major hassle for you that you do not need in your life.