The Bible in different languages

At the Second Church of Odyssey you'll find different ways of expressing your beliefs, finding prayer support or being encouraged through regular devotionals.
Aeva
Pretzel
Pretzel

The Bible in different languages

Post by Aeva »

While I was reading through Iron and Light's reintroduction thread, I found this statement:
Jelly wrote:From my experience, the language you use to read Scripture doesn't necessarily make a difference unless you're actually learning to read it in different light. :(
I hope you don't mind if I use your statement to spark a new discussion, Jelly, but I saw a goldmine in what you wrote. \:D/ Because I'm a language student (I'm currently studying Spanish and French), I recently purchased a bilingual, Spanish Bible to read, and already I have found a wealth of new treasures. Many of the words have slightly different meanings which provide interesting variations on the mental images that I have always had. I'll give you a few examples to try to illustrate what I mean.

One of my favorite chapters is Psalm 91; here's verse one in English:

Here it is in Spanish: "El que habita al abrigo del Altísimo se acoge a la sombra del Todopoderoso." (This is the Nueva Versión Internacional if anybody cares to know. :p )

Translated back to English: "He that lives in/inhabits the shelter ("abrigo" can also be translated as "coat, overcoat" which is a wonderful picture of God putting his coat around us) of the Highest takes refuge in ("se acoge" also means "has recourse to" in regard to a law) the shadow of the All-Powerful."

Verse 3:

In Spanish: "Sólo él puede librarte de las trampas del cazador y de mortíferas plagas..."

Back to English: "Only He can free you from the traps ("trampas" figuratively means "tricks") of the hunter and from deadly plagues..."

Here's 1 Peter 5: 6-7: