Video Game Graphics

How realistic is too realistic?

This is a place where gamers can come and tell of their favorite games, discuss current games, head up gaming contests, and join in on online games that others are playing. It's a place run by gamers and enjoyed by all types of gamers alike.
Smaug the Dragon
If posts were pigs...

Video Game Graphics

Post by Smaug the Dragon »

This may make me sound like an utter wimp, but anyway.

Today I finally finally finished Half-Life, a game I've been playing through for something like four years. Part of the reason it took so long is because I found some parts of it too scary to play through for a long time (yeah, I know :p ). Now I am faced with a dilemma. I really want to play Half-Life 2, but I don't know if I can deal with the better graphics and increased violence. Keep in mind that I often close my eyes when watching a 12A movie, and generally can't sit through a conversation dealing with gore and blood.

This sparked the question in my mind, if video games keep getting more and more realistic, will I be able to play any shooter games at all? Would there be others who'd also be uncomfortable with killing people who look really realistic?

It's a shame I'm so squeamish. After watching the trailer for Black Mesa, I'm torn between loving the amazing graphics and knowing I can never play through those gory scenes in such clarity. :( boo.
bookworm
ToO Historian
ToO Historian

Post by bookworm »

I’m not a huge gamer, and even less of an FPS gamer, but I don’t think I’d have a huge problem with it. I would be more comfortable with limited gore though, I don’t really pay attention to the detail so it wouldn’t bother me.

The FPS I play most often is Medal of Honor Allied Assault which is old and has low quality graphics and no blood and I like it fine. As I said, the detail doesn’t matter one way or the other to me, but increasing blood and gore is what would make me hesitate.
DanP740
Trank Tank Driver
Trank Tank Driver